FINAL

TOWN OF WEATHERSFIELD, VERMONT MINUTES OF PLANNING COMMISSION MEETING

Monday, 11 March, 2019

I. Call to Order - Chair, Nancy Heatley called the meeting to order at 7:05pm.

Introductions: Howard Beach, Sven Fedorow (Land Use Administrator), Tyler Harwell, Nancy Heatley, Paul Tillman, Michael Todd, Julia Lloyd Wright (Energy Coordinator, ex-officio)

Visitors: None

Reorganization following Town Meeting 2 March, 2019

Sven Fedorow called for Chair nominations

Michael Todd nominated Nancy Heatley

Sven Fedorow closed nominations, Nancy Heatley confirmed by a unanimous vote

Michael Todd nominated Paul Tillman for Vice-Chair and Howard Beach for Clerk

Sven Fedorow closed the nominations which were voted unanimously

Paul Tillman nominated the reappointment of Julia Lloyd Wright as Secretary, the nomination was approved unanimously.

Newly appointed Planning Commissioners will sign the Town ethics sheets at the next meeting

II. Agenda Review - 11 March, 2019, no changes

III. Approval of Meeting Minutes - 11 February, 2019

A motion was made by Paul Tillman to accept the Minutes of 11 February, 2019, seconded by Michael Todd. Voted: Unanimously.

A motion was made by Michael Todd to accept the Minutes of 25 February, 2019, seconded by Tyler Harwell. Voted: Unanimously

IV. Comments from Citizens - None

V. Solar screening/Enhanced Energy Plan

- * Recap from last meeting
- * Discussion of planned 25 March meeting with Annette Smith, VCE

Nancy Heatley reviewed discussions with Jason Rasmussen, Senior Planner, Southern Windsor County Regional Planning Commission (SWCRPC) on 25 February, 2019. Jason Rasmussen had reported that grant money is available to help with the Plan but this offer will expire at the end of the spring. Nancy Heatley suggested that Jason Rasmussen be asked to do a draft with concerns/questions and come back to the Planning Commission with something that is Weathersfield specific. Discussion also raised the issue of how to implement the Plan with a suggestion that Sven Fedorow contact representatives from Windsor/West Windsor to attend a meeting. The Enhanced Plan could be useful for the town. Paul Tillman said he would like to see the bare minimum. Sven Fedorow will ask Jason Rasmussen if he can come up with a draft to cover the bare minimum and include maps, showing photos of solar arrays and power lines. Annette Smith of Rutland will share her expertise with the Commission at the next meeting on March 25.

VI. Zoning Bylaw Updates

Proposed ambiguity clause: "Any ambiguity or uncertainty which may exist in interpreting these bylaws shall by construed in favor of the applicant".

Syen Fedorow asked that this wording be included in the Procedural Section of the Bylaws to make it explicit when conditions are included.

Airport Uses

There was a discussion on possible economic development at the Springfield Airport that might benefit Weathersfield. Restrictions would be limited to navigation, height and electronic interference for local homeowners. It was decided that the town needed a map and Sven Fedorow was asked to come up with an overlay of the district and contact Bob Flint, Executive Director of the Springfield Regional Development Corporation regarding any future economic plans for the area.

(c) Village district bylaw- 2.5.1 Village (V)

Sven Fedorow revised the Draft bylaw and the Commission reviewed and reduced (D) Dimensional Standards for Minimum and Rear Setbacks to 10ft each. Maps showing prime ag. soils in the two villages will be available for the next meeting.

VI. Agenda Items and Materials from prior Planning Commission meetings to continue on 25 March, 2019

Annette Smith from Rutland, VT will speak on the Draft Enhanced Energy Plan.

- (d) Minimum lot size bylaw
- (e) Conservation of Natural Resources bylaw
 - Agricultural Zoning
 - Places having unique ecological interest or value
 - Connecticut River
 - Pond construction
 - Steep slopes and high elevation
 - Streambank conservation
 - Wetlands
 - Damaged structures

VII. Adjourn

A motion to adjourn at 9pm was made by Michael Todd, seconded by Howard Beach. Voted: Unanimously.